LION: Free the Textbook: Zero (Z) Cost Resources

ZERO COST RESOURCES

What are Zero course resources?

Z resources are resources that are provided and available at Albright College for free or no cost to students and faculty. It takes a wide variety of learning tools to create an interactive, engaged and student-centered course. Below is an updated and growing list of resources primarily for professors but many can be shared with students. Use the tabs below to explore.

RESOURCES YOU CAN USE

Case Studies

Arthur Andersen Case Studies in Business Ethics includes collection includes 85 mini-cases and 5 major cases
Business Case Studies provides cost-free access to case studies on finance, marketing, operations, people, strategy, and external environment.
Case Studies in Business and Management a peer-reviewed journal provides access to innovative case studies in business and management.
Case Center: a collection of case studies produced by schools and organizations across the globe
Caselaw Access Project provided by Harvard Law School Library, makes the full corpus of published U.S. case law online at no cost to users.
Creative Commons Case Studies
Journal of Business Case Studies Case studies for use in business and economics and articles related to
the use of case studies in the classroom.
Journal of Information Systems Education: a peer-reviewed journal that offers, alongside other content, case studies on information systems in education, including curriculum, course materials, and learning projects.
Marketing Case Studies: provides access to case studies written by mathematicians working on industry problems.
Mathematics-in-Industry Case Studies
MIT Sloan School of Management list of case studies in entrepreneurship, leadership/ethics, operations management, strategy, sustainability, and system dynamics,
New York Times Case Studies
Next Generation Personal Finance Case studies
Oikos Free Case Studies provides peer-reviewed cases on sustainability in management, entrepreneurship, and finance.
Open Case Studies at UBC created by faculty and students at the University of British Columbia, many of these case studies focus on sustainability and feature a broad range of topics across disciplines.
Ryerson University Open Access Business Case Studies
Sustainable Business Case Book
Sheridan Library: Free Business Case Studies
University of British Columbia Case Studies is a vast resource of case studies, guides, and implementation help.
UBC Collection of case studies
Yale School of Management TOP 40 popular Case Studies

No Cost Resources for Grammar & Writing

Diagramming Sentences is a website for sentence diagramming with exercises.
Grammar Girl Quick and Dirty Tips
Grammar Bytes
TED Talks for Writing

Looking for images you can use in your courses?

AICT is a royalty-free image exchange for the educational community.
Clip Art Etc is a collection from University of South Florida and is part of the Educational Technology Clearinghouse
Wellcome Library specializes in the history of medicine with over 100,000 historical images.
Creative Commons is an easy way to search for open license images, media, music and other resources.
Flickr Images with Creative Commons License:
Getty Images
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Digital Collections
Met Museum Resources has over 405,000 free images.
Morgue Files is a site was created to serve as a free image exchange for creative professionals and teachers to use in their work.
National Gallery: More than 51,000 open access digital images up to 4000 pixels each
NASA Image and Video Library
National Science Foundation Multimedia Gallery
Pexels is a stock images resource with portraits, lifestyle and dynamic background images.
Pixabay is a vibrant community of creatives, sharing copyright free images and videos.
Unsplash is a Creative Commons Zero License site with a good range of high-res images.

Want to liven up your presentations?

Adobe Spark is a free graphic design tool for web pages, social media posts, and videos.
Microsoft Sway is an interactive digital storytelling tool. Free to students and faculty using their Albright Office 365 account.
Poll Everywhere add polls and feedback to presentations with this free PP & Google slide add-in.
Google Slides is a great way to collaborate with others to create a presentation.
Prezi uses motion, zoom, and spatial relationships to bring ideas to life.
PechaKucha 20x20 is a simple presentation format where you show 20 images, each for 20 seconds. Check out examples of PechaKucha presentations. This NOBA article explains why it works to engage students and how students can use it.

Interactive Learning Tools

H5P use this tool to create interactive learning content for your courses.
GeoGebra Simulations free online tools for graphing, geometry, 3D and more.
Quizlet: create or search for digital flashcards.
Quizizz a way for professors or students to create quizzes and games to enhance learning.
Poll Everywhere is a free live polling tool that can easily be used in a lecture, presentation or anywhere you want to engage students.

Tutorial Resources

Hoonuit is 24/7 on-demand training for technology applications, academic support, and career services. View Handout FIXXXX
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos including in almost all subjects.
Learn Software for Free offers more than 180 topics, including more than 2,000 lessons, 800+ videos, and more.
Microsoft 365 Training offers tutorials and tips for Microsoft products. Sign in using your Albright account to access.

Library Resources (may require an Albright login)

Ambrose Video
Large collections of videos on all academic subjects. These videos are delivered via the internet and can be played on any computer or mobile device
American History in Video
An online collection of video for the study of American History from producers such as A&E, the History Channel, PBS and others. Includes films, documentaries, transcripts and newsreels.

Check out these internet sources for videos

WikiMedia Commons s a media file repository of CC-licensed and public domain images and videos.
Yovisto is a video search engine specializing in educational video content.
Open Culture offers 1150 movies including classics, indies, film noir, documentaries, comedies and more.
TED Talks for Writing