Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Free the Textbook

  Why are Open Access Journals a big deal?


Open access Journals provide unrestricted access and unrestricted reuse.  Open Access Journals offer many benefits including:

Accelerated Discovery With Open Access, researchers can read and build on the findings of others without restriction

Public Enrichment: Much scientific and medical research is paid for with public funds. Open Access allows taxpayers to see the results of their investment

Improved Education: Open Access means that teachers and their students have access to the latest research findings throughout the world.


 
    Databases for Open Journals - All Topics


While they may not carry the same amount of recognition as their more expensive counterparts, the following open-access databases provide a comparable selection of journals that are highly useful to students across disciplines.

  • AGRIS an invaluable resource administered by the Food and Agriculture Organization and contains millions of published articles,
  • Directory of Open Access Journals  is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. 
  • Oxford Open is from Oxford University and one of the many brick-and-mortar institutions currently making an effort to provide open access to scholarly publications authored by both current students and alumni. 
  • OpenSpringer provides researchers from all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences a place to publish in an open access journal.
  • Wiley Open Access contains articles that appear in the 30 journals hosted by Wiley Open Access database go through a stringent peer review and editorial process, ensuring the quality and longevity of the content.
  •  OMICS Group has more than 300 open-access scientific journals housed in this database, with a readership of roughly 3 million users.

USE THE TABS BELOW TO SEARCH BY DISCIPLINE

OPEN JOURNALS BY DISCIPLINE

Use the tabbed resources above to search and locate open journals.

  Science Open Journals

  • arXiv.org  is funded by Cornell University and provides Open access to 1,509,605 e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

  • BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology, and Medicine) publisher with an open access publishing model.
  • Open Research Online contains journal articles, books, theses, and conference papers, and other published research from Open University.
  • PLOS publishes a suite of seven peer-reviewed Open Access journals.
  • NASA PubSpace is preserving and providing public access to peer-reviewed papers from NASA-funded research beginning in 2016.
  • Physics Journals is a  list of open access physics journals (i.e. physics journals with free articles), including journals specializing in astronomy, acoustics, electricity, nuclear physics, optics and light, and thermal physics.
  • Science Direct allows you to browse 4,039 journals and 28,293 books.
  • Wiley Open Access publishes a number of online journals across biological, chemical and health sciences. 

  Business Open Journals

  Education Open Journals

  • American Educator is one of the most extensive journals currently available to web users most articles are devoted to three central themes: technology and innovation in the classroom, evaluative methods used by educators, and student outcome trends and strategies. 
  • Current Issues in Education: Three types of articles are published in this journal: research studies, literature reviews, and outcome-oriented analysis. 
  • Early Childhood Research & Practice (ECRP) contains articles exploring various strategies for teaching elementary school learners, as well as studies related to students belonging to specific demographics.
  • International Journal of Special Education (IJSE) covers both experimental and theoretical approaches to special education found across the globe, as well as trends associated with various demographics.;
  • Journal of Learning Development in Higher Education (JLDHE) l seeks to examine the relationship between college curricula and student outcomes. 

  Psychology Open Journals

  • BMC Psychology publishes articles related to “developmental, clinical, cognitive, experimental, social, evolutionary and educational psychology, as well as personality and individual differences.
  • Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health (CAPMH) dates back to 2007 and contains more than 200 research reports, case reports, editorials, and letters.
  • Evolutionary Psychology is an extensive journal specializing in articles and case studies.
  • Journal of Alcoholism and Drug Dependence primarily explores various theories and strategies related to alcohol and drug dependence.
  • Mental Illness is a  peer-reviewed journal that publishes editorials, feature-length articles, and case reports relate d to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of mental illnesses.