It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FYS100K - Perfect Children-Reproductive Technology and the New Eugenics (Heller): Finding Information
For LION OneSearch & Academic Search Complete, use the check box for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
Most JSTOR items are scholarly.
A scholarly article is most often written by a person with academic credentials in the discipline. The article may or may not be peer reviewed. And remember that peer reviewed journals also contain content that does not meet the criteria for being peer reviewed such as letters and book reviews. When in doubt, ask Dr. Heller.
In addition to our subscription databases, Google Scholar has quality sources including full text journal articles in all disciplines.
Searching for social, ethical and economic issues includes concepts like quality of life, employment, genetic screening, counseling, coping behavior, costs, etc
PLEASE NOTE: This is not an exhaustive list of all the databases provided by the library. If you are not finding what you need, please ask for help from me or at the Reference Desk.
JSTOR is a shared digital library that includes the fulltext of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume published. Coverage varies depending on the journal title.
Due to "moving wall" agreements with the publishers, JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 1-5 years after the publishing date.
A renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Coverage: citations to journals, 1887-present; book citations 1997-present
World's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. Coverage: Full text coverage spans from 1904 to present for 777 of the journals, indexing from 1895 to present for other sources
Coverage includes abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.