Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIO 101: Finding Materials

Books

To find books and AV materials at Albright, check our CataLION (Online Public Access Catalog).

cataLION search tips:

  • The cataLION online catalog searches like Google. It tries to match as many of your terms as possible with the best matches appearing on the first pages.
  • The database accommodates truncation with the use of the asterisk. An asterisk can be used at the start or end of a word to truncate. Searching for “bat*” returns all words starting with “bat” and searching for “*man” returns all words ending in “man.”
  • The database is searchable by title, author, subject or keyword options.  When searching by keyword mode only input the keywords and ignore the prepositions, articles, etc to make the search more efficient.
  • To do a more comprehensive search, use the CataLION advanced search.
  • For instructions about how to use other search features, click this here.

In preparation for the renovation, library staff and a small portion of the collection was moved to the Center for Computing & Mathematics (CCM). Much of the library's circulating book collection is now housed in a nearby warehouse. If you need a book from the warehouse, you can place a hold on it, and library staff will retrieve it for you.

Placing a Hold

If you want to place a hold for an item that is on a list of results, click the Place a Hold link that appears under the item. If you have clicked on an individual item, the Place a Hold link is on the right hand side of the screen.

Log in with your LionLINK credentials.

To complete the process, click Confirm Hold.

Searching for EBooks

While Catalion contains some links to ebooks, for a comprehensive ebook search, check our ebook holdings separately.

Article Databases

I'm Stuck and Don't Know Where to Start

Lion OneSearch (see below) is a powerful search engine designed to help you find relevant items when you are having trouble finding what you need. A word of caution: It searches a huge quantity of material, and you might find too much. Experiment with the Refine Results links on the left of the results page to limit your retrieval.

LION OneSearch box -- Use the tabs below to customize your search!

LION OneSearch searches cataLION & many databases. | About LION OneSearch

 

Use the cataLION catalog to find books, e-books and DVDs at Albright

  

Advanced Search

Search for articles in EBSCO Discovery Service

Search for video in EBSCO Discovery Service

Search for a specific journal title in the box below.

 

Browse By Discipline

Journal Locator -- BETA