Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theater Research Resources: Reviews

Theatre Reviews and Criticism

Library Subscriptions

MLA International Bibliography -- An index of scholarly books and articles on the literature of all languages, film studies, folklore, book history, theatre, etc.

Literature Criticism Online is a part of the Literature Resource Center -- Includes full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines. Also provides critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.

Gale Literary Index -- the master index to literature products published by Gale which leads to more sources for reviews and criticism.

Project Muse - provides performance reviews from scholarly journals

Lexis-Nexis Academic -- full-text newspaper articles including reviews and criticism of plays

ProQuest Newstand -- news sources from around the world


Newspapers

New York Times Theater Reviews

Los Angeles Theater Reviews

London Theatre Reviews


Websites

Aisle Say -- The Internet Magazine of Stage Reviews and Opinion

CurtainUp -- The Internet Theater Magazine of Reviews, Features and Annotated Listings

Hot Review -- an online journal from Hunter College, reviews from theater critics and talented students

New York Theatre Wire -- a guide to what's playing on New York's stages. Including reviews

The Off Off-Broadway Review -- includes reviews and current listings