Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sometimes searching an individual database can improve search results. Check the A-Z list of databases for other specialized databases.
- Academic Search Complete A multidisciplinary database of more than 8,500 fulltext periodicals with pdf content going back as far as 1887. Includes indexing and abstracting for more than 12,500 periodicals.
- ARTstor ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Coverage includes images from prehistoric times to the present day. ARTstor digitizes and provides high-quality images from numerous museums, academic institutions, and private foundations. It comes with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
- Business Source Complete A scholarly business database providing both bibliographic and fulltext items with indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1886.
- Credo Reference Collection of full text online reference materials. Content includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, and subject-specific titles from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare, and law to literature. Coverage varies by title.
- Ebsco eBook Collection A collection of electronic books in all subject areas. Coverage dates vary
- JSTOR JSTOR is a shared digital library that includes the fulltext of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume published. Coverage varies depending on the journal title.
- Literature Reference Center Plus This rich full-text database provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. It gives students, professors and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
- Project Muse Provides full-text access to more than 400 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Coverage varies by publication; the earliest date of inclusion is 1990.
- ProQuest Ebook Central Ebrary provides online access to scholarly e-books in all subject areas. You can read books online or download them. Coverage varies.
- Proquest Global Newstream Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Coverge varies by source.
- Sage Online Journals Fulltext access from 1999 to a subset of the over 450 journals in 40 disciplines. Coverage 1999-present depending on source.
- SocINDEX with Full Text World's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. Coverage: Full text coverage spans from 1904 to present for 777 of the journals, indexing from 1895 to present for other sources. Coverage includes abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Searching with LION OneSearch
The "Articles" tab in LION One Search searches multiple databases by keyword, title, or author.
An article may have links to HTML Full Text, PDF Full Text, or an ePUB file. A "View record from..." link will open the article in one of our databases. A "Full text Finder" link opens a page showing access to the source journal, which may include the article you want. This link may also indicate the library has a physical copy of the journal on the third floor. The "Journals" tab in LION One Search lets you search journals to which we have access for words in their titles. You can also search Google Scholar; sometimes full text of articles can be found. If the article isn't located, you can request it through Interlibrary loan.
You should examine the Subjects listed for an article to determine if using them will improve search results. They can be added to a search using the Advanced Search page. Advanced Search lets you construct more complex and targeted searches.
Sometimes searching an individual database may be more efficient.
Databases can use different methods to search and sort data. Ust the Help function to learn more about successfully using a database.
If you want to save a link to an article from a database, look for a "permalink", "durable URL", "stable URL", or a similar term and save the URL it lists. A link copied from the browser may not be reliable.
Many databases let you use a citation manager to organize articles you locate. There are several available with a variety of capabilities if you choose to use one.